Ames Laboratory
 You are here:  Ames Laboratory  >  DMSE  >  Novel Materials  >  Members
 
If pictures are hyperlinked they will take you to the member's personal web page:
Personal Web Page Paul C. Canfield
Group Leader
canfield@ameslab.gov

Started the group in 1992. Born in Virginia, USA. Graduated at University of Virginia (1983), M. Sc. from University of California - Los Angeles (1986), Ph.D. from University of California - Los Angeles (1990). Post-doc at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Sabbaticals at Grenoble, Madrid, Karlsruhe, Oxford. Distinguished Professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Iowa State University and Senior Scientist at Ames Laboratory.

Sergey L. Bud'ko
Scientist
budko@ameslab.gov

Joined the group in 1995. Born in Vitebsk, USSR. Graduated from Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT) (1982), Ph.D. from MIPT (1986). Positions and/or post-docs at Institute for High Pressure Physics (Moscow, Russia), University of California at San Diego, Texas Center for Superconductivity at University of Houston, and Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Fisicas (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil).

Raquel A. Ribeiro
Visiting Professor
raquel.ribeiro@ufabc.edu.br

Re-joined the group in January 2018. Born in Brazil. Ph.D. from Universidade Estadual de Campinas (2001). Post-docs at Ames Laboratory / Iowa State University and University of Hiroshima. From 2009 - professor at the Universidade Federal do ABC (Santo Andre, Brazil). Enjoys Bahian cooking and music.

Andriy Palasyuk
Scientist at CMI
palasyuk@iastate.edu

Joined the group in August 2016. Born in Ukraine. Ph.D. from Ivan Franko National University of Lviv (2002). Post-docs at Univesität zu Köln (2003 - 2006), ISU (2006 - 2008/2011 - 2012), NCSU (2008 - 2011). Assist. Scientist at Ames Laboratory, Bill McCallum Group (2012 - 2016). Enjoys arts and sports.

Elena Gati
Post-Doc
egati@iastate.edu

Joined the group in January 2018. Born in Frankfurt, Germany. Ph.D. from Goethe University Frankfurt (2017). Enjoys basketball and soccer.

Andreas Kreyssig
Scientist
kreyssig@ameslab.gov

Joined the group in October 2019. Born in DDR. Diploma in Physics (1992) and Ph.D. (2001) from University of Technology, Dresden. Post-docs at UT Dresden and Ames Laboratory. Enjoys cheese and hiking in Alps.

Guilherme Gorgen-Lesseux
Post-Doc
lesseux@iastate.edu

Joined the group in April 2019. Born in Brazil. PhD from Universidade Estadual de Campinas (2017). Post-doc at University of Stuttgart. Enjoys soccer and volleyball.

Mingyu Xu
Graduate Student
mxu26@iastate.edu

Joined the group in September 2016. Born in Taian, China. Graduated from Shandong University, M.S. (Theoretical Physics) from Nankai University (2013). M.S.(Physics) from Illinois Institute of Technology (2015). Currently a Ph.D. student at Iowa State University.

Parul Devi
Post-Doc
pdevi@ameslab.gov

Joined the group in April 2019. Native of Meerut, India. Ph.D. from Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids in Dresden, Germany (2019). Enjoys badminton and tennis.

John Wilde
Graduate Student
jmwilde@iastate.edu

Joined the group in October 2019. Born in California, USA. Graduated with a BS in physics from the University of California, Santa Cruz. Enjoys hiking, snowboarding, and video games.

Brinda Kuthanazhi
Graduate Student
brindak@iastate.edu

Joined the group in January 2017. From Kerala, India. Graduated with MS (Physics) from IISER Thiruvananthapuram in 2016.

Atreyee Das
Graduate Student
datreyee@iastate.edu

Joined the group in January 2019. Graduated with MS in physics from University of Calcutta in 2017. Loves painting, reading, traveling.

Scott Saunders
Graduate Student
scotts8@iastate.edu

Joined the group in January 2013. From St. Louis, Missouri. B.S. in Physics from Iowa State University (2016). Currently a Ph.D. student at Iowa State University.

Li Xiang
Graduate Student
ives@iastate.edu

Joined the group in January 2016. Born in Jingmen, China. Graduated from Peking University in 2012 with B.S. Currently a Ph.D. student at Iowa State University.

Seth Heerschap
Graduate Student
sethheer@iastate.edu

Joined the group in May 2018. Working on CMI projects.

Paula Herrera-Siklody
Scientific Collaborator
siklody@iastate.edu

Joined the group in spring 2019. Grew up and studied in Barcelona. PhD from Universitat de Barcelona (1999). Likes cooking, singing, painting, reading, gardening, learning languages, and too many other things to fit in 24-hour days.

Caiden Abel
Undergraduate Student
ccabel@iastate.edu

Joined the group in summer 2018. Pursuing B.S. in Materials Engineering at Iowa State University.

John Mobley IV
Undergraduate Student
jmobley@iastate.edu

Joined the group in August 2019. From the local Iowan community of Jefferson. Currently pursuing a B.S. in Physics with a Nuclear Engineering minor and a B.S. in Mathematics with Applications at Iowa State University. Enjoys cooking, playing piano, biking, reading, and listening to a variety of music from jazz to orchestral.

William Huynh
Undergraduate Student
wbhuynh@iastate.edu

Joined the group in August 2019. Currently pursuing a B.S. in Physics at Iowa State University. Enjoys trying new foods, reading manga, and working out.

Previous Members Everyday Life Stories
(SKIM Production)
  • Pirates of Zaffarano Hall mp4
  • A Day in the Life of a Low Temperature Scientist mp4
 
Introduction | Members | Facilities | Publications | Photo Gallery | Links
Last Update: June 05, 2017 by S.L.Bud'ko